AfricaPress-Tanzania: THE National Electoral Commission (NEC) is expected to release a list of legislators appointed on Special Seats in the 12th Parliament with ruling party-CCM fielding 94.

According to the CCM Secretary General Dr Bashiru Ally, the party will have at least 94 Special Seats legislators.

During the October 28th, 2020 General Election a total of 23 female MPs won the race at their respective constituencies, meaning that the ruling party will have at least 117 women MPs in the 12th Parliament.

Dr Bashiru said out of the reserved 94 seats, 22 are from the party’s wings, which include Women’s Wing (2), Parents Wing (2), Youth Wing (10) and Persons with Special Needs (3), Academicians (2) and three from Civil Society Organisation (CSO).

According to Dr Bashiru, the presence of 117 women legislators from the party was a new record since the country resorted to multiparty system in 1992.

The 11th Parliament had a total of 113 appointed Special Seats MPs.

In the results announced by National Electoral Commission (NEC), CCM scooped 256 legislative seats out of 264, with only eight being grabbed by three opposition parties, ACTWazalendo, the Civic United Front (CUF) and Chadema.

Earlier on Sunday, NEC Director of Election, Dr Wilson Charles told the ‘Daily News’ that the Special Seats MPs will be announced today after their verifications and respective parties submitting their names


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here